Disable Items Restore options in Veeam Self-Service Backup Portal

54 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 LinkedIn 54 Email -- 54 Flares ×

WARNING: This is a totally unsupported procedure, do it at your own risk!

Veeam Backup & Replication 9.5 has introduced a complete set of self-service capabilities for VMware vCloud Director users. Service providers can offer these features to their users, and users can perform backups and restores in a complete self-service way. You can read more about this in a blog post I wrote a few months ago: Self-service backup and restore capabilities for VMware vCloud Director coming in Veeam Availability Suite 9.5.

However, because of network restrictions that are often in place in vCloud Director environments, some features like Item restores are not possible. So, some service providers asked me if it was possible to remove the ITEMS tab in the portal, just to make the user experience of the portal easier. Or maybe a provider doesn’t want to offer these capabilities at all to its customers. Whatever is the use case, there’s a way to remove the tab. Just remember as I’ve said at the beginning, this is totally unsupported!

This is the starting dashboard a tenant sees when he logs in:

The upper menu bar is managed via a specific css file, its name is app.min.css and is stored in C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Enterprise Manager\WebApp\css. You need to open the file with a text editor, and add these two lines at the end of the file:

#root-menu-item-e2dd7967-e271-43d0-8235-1a1e1daacf9d { visibility: hidden; }
#root-menu-item-80dc608d-7445-44d2-89cc-a4316c88b6a9 { margin-left: -100px; }

You can add those lines appended to the exiting text, or in two new lines, it doesn’t matter as the CSS format is highly forgiving. Once you have saved the file, and you have closed and re-opened your browser, you can login again in the portal, and this is what you will see:

Here we go, the ITEMS tab is gone!

NOTE: I tested the upgrade to Veeam Backup & Replication Update 1 and then Update 2, and the two lines were removed from the css file after the update; probably the CSS is overwritten by a new one. Once the lines are added back, the workaround is again effective, so you may want to plan a refresh of the css file upon every software update.

 

54 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 LinkedIn 54 Email -- 54 Flares ×